top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa

A Lioness and Her Cub

I started another new piece, a cute picture of a mamma lion and her cub. Stepping a bit out of my comfort zone with a slightly more complex composition.



I finally signed up on wildlifereferencephotos.com which is run by the Stribbling Family Wildlife Artists David, Sarah and Rachel. I love their wildlife art and the site has a huge collection of photos specifically for artists at a decent cost. I ended up subscribing for 10 dollars, which got me 5 photos. As usual, I got super excited and downloaded all 5 photos in one sitting (you have a month to use the subscription).


I started with the lioness and cub, it kinda pulled at my heart strings as a mom. Practiced drawing it first in my sketchbook then transferred it over to a 16x20 canvas. That little cubs just melts my heart, I mean how cute is this little guy??


Pablo Picasso

“It takes a long time to become young.”

I created an under-drawing using charcoal pastels (bout fixative spray and everything).



I really need to work on proportion, I have a tendency to draw to large...


Pablo Picasso

“ He can who thinks he can, and he can't who thinks he can't. This is an inexorable, indisputable law. ”

I figure, once I start laying the paint down, I can adjust things as I go. I almost always end up adjusting once I start painting and really looking at the color values.

Once I have a fair amount of time to sit down some more, I can start laying some oil paints down on her.


In the meantime....I did finish one tiger on a 16" round wood panel (no progress pics)

And managed to squeeze in a 6x6 oil study on a small cut of canvas, took about an hour



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page