top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa

Out of the Darknes

While waiting for other pieces to dry up a bit, I decided to work on a quick oil study. I have a particular love for big cats and they seem to be at the forefront of my subject matter these days.



Seemed like a nice quick image to take on, work on my Alla Prima skills. I mean how hard can a painting be when the bulk of the image is black? Apparently, not as easy as it looks...I started with the black and left the white/lighter areas untouched and moved on to the lighter highlights. I used a mix of titanium white, cerulean blue and lamp black to create a bluish grey color for the main highlights and some blush and some blush and flesh tone mixed with a small amount of the black for the mid-tones.


I find it easier to create an image when I put less thought into what it is supposed to look like and focus on the color values, highlights, shadows and mid-tones. When I put too much thought and worry into the final outcome, I usually end up with something I gesso over. I guess not everything can be a win but that's how we learn, right? From our failures.


I ended up working at the kitchen table this time, to keep my husband company while he watched the planes overhead on some app from his iPad.


Pablo Picasso

“Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”

It started to finally take shape as I worked on the looser brush strokes, really hitting those highlights.



I have to tell you, one thing I've never been too good at is eyes...I admire artists who can paint a good set of eyes that look so realistic, even ones that are not as realistic. It's always been one of my week points. Did pretty good this time though, I think!


Sofia Loren

“ Beauty is how you feel inside, and it reflects in your eyes. It is not something physical. ”

I was able to finish this one between Friday and Saturday night, about an hour each evening. I am trying to let go more and more each piece, not caring as much about the outcome and going more with the flow of how I feel.

Right now I feel like I finally got a good set of whiskers (not to mention those eyes!)




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page